Scheduled!

It’s official, I am going under the knife on Tuesday, July 20, 2010.  That is just four days away!!!  Apparently the hospital had a cancellation (I wonder if it was me?) and so they were able to “squeeze me in.”  I had the option of waiting until September 14th, but I decided that it is better to get the whole business over and done.  I am getting excited!

I am composing a list of things to pack for the hospital and things to do before I get there. So far I will be packing:

  • My breathing exercise machine http://www.carestream.com/uploads/file/Leventon%20Spiroball.pdf
  • Hospital letter
  • Toiletries (toothbrush & paste, deodorant, shampoo & conditioner, moisturizer, body cream, comb, face cleansing cloths)
  • Chapstick
  • Anti-bacterial wipes
  • Pyjamas
  • Robe
  • 3 pairs of undies
  • Non-wired bra
  • Flip-flops
  • 3 books
  • Ipod
  • Medication (prescription and over-the-counter gas meds)
  • Maybe a towel and pillow
  • £20 for incidentals (I think I’ll leave my purse at home.)

I am considering bringing a change of clothing, but I figure that I can probably wear the same thing to the hospital that I wear home from the hospital.  I have to check in at 7:30 Tuesday morning, so I won’t really have much time in my surgery-day clothes.

Over the weekend I will find the time to:

  • Go to Confession (I haven’t been in years but I want to be prepared just-in-case I die.)
  • Go to Mass
  • Shave my legs etc.
  • Pluck my eyebrows
  • Remove all nail polish (required for surgery but I not sure why)
  • Trim my nails
  • Give myself a facial
  • Make and freeze some chicken stock
  • Buy some protein drinks
  • Write a love letter to Michel
  • Write just-in-case letters to my family
  • Discuss my last wishes with Michel
  • Spend quality time with Michel

In many ways this is the last weekend of my life.  Soon I will be turning over a new leaf and starting all over again.  The mind boggles.

About afwc

I am a 30-something woman who has been struggling with weight issues since my marriage in 1999.
This entry was posted in Pre-Op and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

