Aloo Tikki Chaat

Yesterday I welcomed a new dawn; I moved from full liquids to the puréed diet (a.k.a. “mushies”).  Although the liquid stage of my diet was surprisingly tolerable, it is glorious to have a bit more variety.  Along with mashed potatoes and apple-sauce and smooth peanut butter, this new phase brings a new found freedom: the ability to eat out!  It is a Saturday, so Michel and I went out to run some errands and along the way we stopped for lunch.  At first I was not certain what I would have (perhaps I should stick with soup?), but Michel was in the mood for some spice so we ended up at Masala Zone.  Worst case scenario, I assumed that I could have a mango lassie and then return home for some protein; but, instead I found the most gorgeous lunch that I have had in a long time!  I ended up ordering the aloo tikki chaat; a mashed vegetable cake served with curried chickpeas, mint chutney and yoghurt.  It was heaven!  The flavours were perfectly balanced, it offered a decent serving of protein and, best of all, my new tummy seems to have agreed.  The vegetable cake was pan fried to form a lovely crust, but I left the firm bits and ate the soft interior.  Michel was more than happy to eat the rest.  My meal came from the starter section of the menu and it looked underwhelming in scale when it arrived; yet, amazingly, I was only able to eat half!  I guess this sleeve thing is working.  🙂

In other news, I have been reconsidering my sleeve’s name.  Right now I am leaning towards Estomacca, a hybrid of estomac (French for stomach — to reflect my love of la vie gatronomique) and Chewbacca for the crazy noises she makes when I eat.  Your feedback is appreciated.

About afwc

I am a 30-something woman who has been struggling with weight issues since my marriage in 1999.
This entry was posted in Diet, Post-Op and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aloo Tikki Chaat

  1. iam1sweetp says:

    That is so funny that you are naming it. I never even thought about that! I say “chewbacca”!

Leave a Reply

