I’m Back

Bad blogger!   It has been so long since I have posted.  I’ve been back from Canada for a week, but somehow I did not find the time to write.  Sorry about that.

I had an amazing trip!  It was wonderful to see the family and, best of all, I felt so happy and comfortable with my decision to have surgery that I decided to tell just about everyone.  It is hard to believe that not so long ago my surgery was a big secret that caused me terrible anxiety.  Now, it is a life-changing solution that I proud to admit.  As I was leaving the family reunion, one of my aunts hugged me and whispered that she was proud that I was so brave and taking such good care of myself.  It couldn’t have gone better.

When I arrived home I as still eating a “soft diet” but I quickly discovered that I was capable of so much more.  Proceeding slowly and carefully, I sampled all of the foods that I wanted and found that my body was happy to oblige.  I am now eating solid protein (meats, cheeses etc.) in addition to the yoghurt and protein shakes that were my staples.  I have even tried bread, but I find that it fills me up too quickly and does not leave sufficient room for my protein.  I am eating between 800-1000 calories per day and I do not feel deprived in any way.  I am happy with this progression.

While away I did a lot of swimming, boating and walking.  It felt great to be active and I have kept up the momentum since returning home.  I have been walking for 30 – 60 minutes every day, and I hope to return to the pool soon; somehow I just haven’t made it there yet.  My weight is continuing to decline, and my friends and family have commented that they see a difference.  It feels good to have that feedback!  Moreover, while I was home in Canada, I took advantage of the lower prices and bought some clothes.  I didn’t know what size I would be and I was stunned to learn that I had dropped from a 24 to a 16!  I was even able to buy clothes from the regular section instead of the plus sizes!  Life is good.  I hope it continues this way!

About afwc

I am a 30-something woman who has been struggling with weight issues since my marriage in 1999.
This entry was posted in Diet, Post-Op and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Back

  1. Beckae[ says:

    that’s a lot of sizes! I am very proud of you as well for being brave and making the most of life. Keep up the good work and being the amazing person you are!

Leave a Reply

