Victory Is Mine

These past few days have been chock-a-block with awesomeness.   I feel like I have turned a corner and that I am making some real progress.

Last week I took a long look at the things that have been delaying my weight-loss and decided to make some changes.  I resumed my food log (I had fallen off the wagon in that department), cut out the calories from drinks, upped my exercise routine and made an appointment with a personal trainer.  Although I have been fairly loyal to my programme, I realised that some bad habits had crept back into my lifestyle.  I am back on track and that gives me such pleasure.

I challenged myself to exercise five days in a row last week.  Usually I work out a few times during the week (mostly swimming, walking and using the elliptical machine at the gym) but never every day.  I didn’t tell anyone about the plan, I just made the extra effort — and it paid off!  It felt so good to meet my goal and to see the scale going down again.  The challenge re-affirmed my commitment to change.

I met with my trainer on Monday and it was a great success.  He reviewed my current routine and we set some new goals.  I am realistic, I said that I wanted to see some obvious improvement before my birthday in March.  My doctor has cleared me for all activities, so we have decided to add some weights to my exercise plan.  Unlike previous trainers, he does not have me doing the same old routine (warm-up, weights, 30 minutes of cardio, stretch), he has arranged my work-out as more of a circuit.  I begin my workout with eight minutes on the cardio wave — two minutes in each position.  Following the warm-up, I do a set of six weight machines (15 reps each on the inner and outer abductors, vertical traction, shoulder press, arm curl and arm extension).  After the weights I do eight minutes on the elliptical machine, going backwards on level eight and then do another 15 reps of each of the weights.  Finally I end my workout with eight minutes on the bike, once again on level eight.  This is quite a change for me.  It is less cardio than I usually do and all broken up.  Also, I had never used the cardio wave before and I am used to going forwards on the elliptical.  These changes are meant to vary the muscles that I rely upon.  I did my first workout of the new plan and it felt great.  The cardio wave is freakin’ hard and I was only able to do four minutes, but I made up for it with extra time on the elliptical (going forwards).   I have also found going backwards on the elliptical quite a strain.  Thankfully, I have been told that I can work up to the full eight minutes, doing what I can and switching to forwards motion for the balance of the time.  The trainer wants me to try this new routine 20 times and then meet him again for a review.  Thankfully my gym offers a free session with a trainer every month.

I plan to do the new workout three times a week and add walking or swimming to the mix once or twice a week on top of the gym time.  I need variety in everything I do, otherwise I get bored and start to get discouraged.  Thankfully, I view swimming as a bit of a treat because I always take the time to relax in the steam room afterwards.  Besides, I love the water.

The final slice of awesomeness came yesterday when I went shopping for a dress to wear to a wedding this weekend.  There were so many choices!  I finally chose a blue/purple/silver print dress with a big scoop neckline and a flirty skirt.  I wasn’t impressed with the dress while it was on the hanger but it amazed me when I put it on.  Not only did it fit me like a glove but, when I stepped away from the mirror, I had an hourglass figure!  It has been years since I have had a womanly shape.  Not only that but the label said that it was a US size 14 (I was a 24 at my biggest).  I bought matching purple shoes to celebrate.

Victory is mine!

About afwc

I am a 30-something woman who has been struggling with weight issues since my marriage in 1999.
This entry was posted in Post-Op and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Victory Is Mine

  1. Becka says:

    Sounds like a VERY exciting change with the gym. I had to google the cardio wave as I have never heard of it. I want one *L* Though I’m sure it’ll kick my backside if I ever used one. Muscle confusion is the best way to keep your body going and I’m still learning that. I’m always suprised that when I feel like I’ve hit a brick wall, that I’m all I DON’T GET IT, WHY ISN’T THIS WORKING. Duh, switch it up, step it up and suddenly things start to move again. You’d think that I’d have figured that out by now 😛 I need to swim more often, but most of the times are usually when I have the kiddo and swimming with him is not a relaxing event *L*

    I hope you get some pics of you in this fancy new dress 🙂 It sounds lovely!

    • afwc says:

      Thanks Bex! I will try to find the time to edit the photos and post them for you later today. Although, idiot that I am am, I didn’t bring my camera battery charger and the bloody thing crapped out part way through the wedding. Oh well. (Now I wish I had not spent so much time photographing the wonky stairs at the hotel).

      The cardio wave is kicks my butt. Fortunately, I am now able to do the full eight minutes and I can feel it makes a difference even in the couple of times that I have used it; however, there was a guy at the gym on Thursday who was using the machine next to me and he looked like a complete freak. He was doing the “hands off” position at a really fast pace so he looked like he was barely moving. I admire his fitness but I don’t ever want to look as bizarre as he did (words cannot do it justice). I am evil.

Leave a comment